Skip to content
Best College Rankings

2026 edition · 8 ranking sources

Every major college ranking, side by side, with the math shown.

U.S. News, Niche, Forbes, WSJ, Washington Monthly and QS rank the same schools in wildly different orders. We put those answers next to each other, explain what each publisher actually measures, and attach a source and a date to every number.

Start with the question you actually have

Each hub answers one question directly, states the metric that produced the order, and shows every school's underlying data so you can check the reasoning.

Browse question hubs
By major

What are the best colleges for computer science?

MIT, Stanford and Carnegie Mellon hold the top three computer science rankings in the United States and are effectively tied in quality, so choose among them on culture, climate and cost rather than rank. Below that tier, Georgia Tech and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo deliver comparable earnings outcomes at public tuition, and Northeastern's co-op program produces more professional experience before graduation than any other option. For students without single-digit-admit credentials, Purdue admits 49.9% of applicants and RIT 66.9%, with computing outcomes well above what those rates suggest.

8 schools compared
By major

What are the best engineering colleges in the United States?

MIT and Stanford lead every engineering ranking, but the more useful finding is that selectivity and earnings come apart badly in this field: WPI admits 60.2% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $103,470 ten years after entry, and Colorado School of Mines admits 60.7% and reaches $97,335 — both ahead of institutions that admit a tenth as many applicants. Georgia Tech and Purdue offer top-ten engineering at public tuition of $12,058 and $9,992 respectively.

8 schools compared
By cost

What are the best value colleges in America?

Berea College is the cheapest good college in the country by a wide margin: it charges no tuition to any admitted student, its average net price is $6,106 and its graduates leave with median federal debt of $3,591. UC Merced comes next at $11,983, followed by Georgia Tech at $12,116 with median earnings of $102,772 — the best price-to-outcome pairing here. The counterintuitive finding is that the wealthiest private universities are often cheaper than public flagships for lower-income families, because they meet full demonstrated need: Stanford's average net price is $13,807.

9 schools compared
By experience

Which colleges have the best co-op programs?

Northeastern and Drexel run the two largest and most mature co-op programs in the United States, both offering up to three six-month paid full-time placements. Northeastern is far more selective, admitting 5.2% of applicants against Drexel's 79.4%, so for most applicants Drexel is the accessible route to the same model. RIT requires co-op in most majors, which means the experience is built into the degree rather than optional, and Georgia Tech runs one of the oldest co-op programs in the country at $12,058 in-state tuition.

6 schools compared
By student

What are the best colleges for students who don't have perfect grades?

Target schools that admit close to half of applicants or more but still produce strong earnings, because that is where the gap between selectivity and outcome is widest. WPI admits 60.2% and its graduates reach median earnings of $103,470; Colorado School of Mines admits 60.7% and reaches $97,335. Both beat most of the far more selective institutions in this dataset. Further down the selectivity scale, Drexel admits 79.4%, Arizona 86.1% and UC Merced 90.5% — all three still worth considering, though each carries graduation-rate risk you should look at before committing.

10 schools compared
By cost

Which colleges give the best financial aid?

Berea College is unmatched: no tuition for any admitted student and median graduating debt of $3,591. Among institutions without an income cap on admission, Rice, Stanford and MIT are the strongest — all three meet full demonstrated need, cap or eliminate loans, and set income thresholds below which tuition is free entirely ($150,000 at Stanford, roughly $140,000 at Rice, approximately $100,000 at MIT). Crucially, 'meets full need' schools are often cheaper than public flagships for lower-income families, which is the single most common mistake families make.

8 schools compared

What each ranking is really measuring

Published weights, stated strengths, and the limitations each publisher would rather you didn't dwell on.

US News

since 1983

The list admissions offices care about most, now weighted heavily toward graduation outcomes rather than reputation and spending.

Graduation & retention rates 21%Graduation rate performance 10%Pell graduation rates & performance 11%

Niche

since 2013

Federal data blended with millions of current-student reviews, which makes it the best read on what campus life actually feels like.

Academic grade 40%Value grade 17.5%Professor & student survey responses 15%

Forbes

since 2008

A return-on-investment list: it asks what graduates earn and how much debt they carry, and largely ignores prestige.

Alumni salary 20%Debt 15%Return on investment 15%

WSJ

since 2016

Built almost entirely around value added — how much a school improves graduate salaries beyond what its intake predicted.

Salary impact (value added) 33%Years to recoup net cost 17%Graduation rate impact 20%

Washington Monthly

since 2005

Ranks colleges on what they give back to the country — social mobility, research output and public service.

Social mobility 33%Research 33%Public service 33%

QS

since 2004

A global research and reputation ranking — useful for graduate school and international standing, close to useless for undergraduate fit.

Academic reputation survey 30%Employer reputation survey 15%Citations per faculty 20%

Money

since 2014

A five-star affordability rating that weighs net price against graduation odds and early-career pay.

Graduation & educational quality 40%Affordability (net price, debt) 30%Alumni earnings outcomes 30%

Princeton Review

since 1992

Survey-only category lists — best classroom experience, best financial aid, best career services — with no overall ranking at all.

Student survey responses 100%

Colleges by cross-source consensus

Ordered by mean percentile position across every list a school appears on — not by any single publisher's opinion.

Browse colleges
Consensus #1

Princeton University

Princeton, NJPrivate nonprofit

Verified publisher rankings · federal data

Princeton University: U.S. News ranks it #1 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #3 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #7 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #1 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #5 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 Financial Aid; QS ranks it #25 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 5,709 undergraduates, admits 4.6% of applicants, and posts a 97.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $62,688; aid recipients pay $6,128 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $110,066.

Acceptance rate
4.6%
Average net price
$6,128
Median earnings (10 yr)
$110,066
6-yr graduation rate
97.6%
US News · National universities#1 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#3 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#7 of 1,504+5 more on profile

5,709 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 1 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

Consensus #2

Stanford University

Stanford, CAPrivate nonprofit

Stanford pairs top-5 rankings across every major list with the deepest industry pipeline in technology, sitting inside the Silicon Valley hiring network. Admission is the toughest in the country at 3.6%, and financial aid covers full tuition for families earning under about $150,000, bringing the average net price to $13,807.

Acceptance rate
3.6%
Average net price
$13,807
Median earnings (10 yr)
$124,080
6-yr graduation rate
91.9%
US News · National universities#4 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#4 of 500Washington Monthly · National universities#6 of 442+3 more on profile

7,554 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 1 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

Consensus #3

Harvard University

Cambridge, MAPrivate nonprofit

Verified publisher rankings · federal data

Harvard University: U.S. News ranks it #3 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #6 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #6 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #7 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #4 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #5 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 7,601 undergraduates, admits 3.6% of applicants, and posts a 97.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $61,676; aid recipients pay $19,066 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $101,817.

Acceptance rate
3.6%
Average net price
$19,066
Median earnings (10 yr)
$101,817
6-yr graduation rate
97.6%
US News · National universities#3 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#6 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#6 of 1,504+5 more on profile

7,601 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 1 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

Consensus #4

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Cambridge, MAPrivate nonprofit

MIT is the most consistently top-ranked technical university in the world, holding a top-3 position on every major U.S. list and #1 globally on QS. Its 4.5% acceptance rate makes it one of the hardest admits in America, but need-blind admission and no-loan aid mean the average family pays $20,111 rather than the $82,676 sticker price.

Acceptance rate
4.5%
Average net price
$20,111
Median earnings (10 yr)
$143,372
6-yr graduation rate
96.4%
US News · National universities#2 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#1 of 500Washington Monthly · National universities#12 of 442+3 more on profile

4,535 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 1 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

Consensus #5

Yale University

New Haven, CTPrivate nonprofit

Verified publisher rankings · federal data

Yale University: U.S. News ranks it #4 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #9 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #20 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #4 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #3 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #21 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 6,758 undergraduates, admits 3.9% of applicants, and posts a 95.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $67,250; aid recipients pay $23,777 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $100,533.

Acceptance rate
3.9%
Average net price
$23,777
Median earnings (10 yr)
$100,533
6-yr graduation rate
95.7%
US News · National universities#4 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#9 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#20 of 1,504+5 more on profile

6,758 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 1 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

Consensus #6

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PAPrivate nonprofit

Verified publisher rankings · federal data

University of Pennsylvania: U.S. News ranks it #7 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #10 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #19 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #13 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #14 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #15 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 10,650 undergraduates, admits 5.4% of applicants, and posts a 96.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $68,686; aid recipients pay $28,699 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $111,371.

Acceptance rate
5.4%
Average net price
$28,699
Median earnings (10 yr)
$111,371
6-yr graduation rate
96.5%
US News · National universities#7 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#10 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#19 of 1,504+5 more on profile

10,650 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 2 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

A closer look

Use the arrows to move between schools, then open a profile for the full record.

Grove City2 of 2

Grove City College

Grove City, PAPrivate nonprofit

Grove City College is a Christian liberal arts and engineering college in western Pennsylvania that charges $21,700 in tuition — roughly a third of what comparable private colleges list — because it refuses all federal funding and operates without the administrative overhead that comes with it. It graduates 83.2% of students within six years at a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. The trade-off is real: students cannot use Pell grants or federal loans here, and the campus culture is explicitly and conservatively Christian.

Acceptance rate
72.3%
Average net price
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
Not reported
6-yr graduation rate
83.2%
US News · Regional colleges (North)#5 of 67Princeton Review · Overall (Niche)Listed · Top 10 Friendliest Students

2,216 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 7 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

Put two schools next to each other and see what actually differs

Rankings, acceptance rate, net price, graduation rate, debt at graduation and median earnings — in one table, with every figure sourced. Comparisons are shareable by URL, so you can send one to a parent or a counsellor.

Lowest avg. net price
$3,500

Berea College (Scorecard)

Highest median earnings
$124,000

MIT, 10 yrs after entry

Highest acceptance rate
87%

University of Arizona

Lowest median federal debt
$6,000

Berea College at graduation

Guides for students and families

The mechanics nobody explains: how rankings are built, what net price means, and how to read an aid letter.

All guides

The short answer

No single ranking deserves your trust as a verdict, because each one is a weighted average of inputs its editors chose. Read three or four positions at once, then work from the underlying data — graduation rate, net price, debt at graduation and median earnings — which is published for every U.S. college and is not weighted by anyone.

Frequently asked questions

None of them is accurate in the way families hope, because each measures something different. U.S. News weights graduation outcomes and a reputation survey of academic administrators; Forbes weights alumni salary and debt; Washington Monthly weights social mobility, research and public service equally; Niche weights current-student survey responses. The most reliable approach is to read a school's position on three or four lists at once and look at the underlying data — graduation rate, net price, median earnings and debt — rather than trusting any single composite.

Because the two lists weight different inputs. Colorado School of Mines ranks around #76 on U.S. News, which gives 20% of its score to a reputation survey that a 5,600-student public engineering school does not win. It ranks #36 on the WSJ list, which measures how much a college raises graduate salaries above what its intake predicted — and Mines graduates earn a median of about $110,000 ten years after entry. Neither number is wrong; they answer different questions.

Five figures, all published for every U.S. college and all unweighted: the six-year graduation rate, the graduation rate for Pell Grant recipients specifically, the average net price for your family's income band, the median federal debt at graduation, and the median earnings of graduates ten years after entry. These tell you whether students like you finish, what you would actually pay, and what happens afterwards — which is more than any composite ranking can.

Yes. Every ranking comparison, college profile and guide is free with no account required. List order follows published ranks and federal metrics only — see the methodology page for how consensus and sorts are computed.