Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Tougaloo College

Students comparing Tougaloo College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Tougaloo, Mississippi639 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 33HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Tougaloo College: Washington Monthly ranks it #502 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #834 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 639 undergraduates, admits 59.9% of applicants, and posts a 33.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $12,407; aid recipients pay $17,043 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,724.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
59.9%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$17,043

20% below the $21,331 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$34,724

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
33.1%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$30,046

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedTougaloo College reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Tougaloo ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#502of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#834of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Tougaloo's position moves 1 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Tougaloo

Tougaloo College is a private nonprofit institution in Tougaloo, Mississippi. Federal data show 83.2% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $17,043 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $21,331 sticker cost against $17,043 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Tougaloo College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$12,407

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
62.7%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$8,924

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $21,331 a year, but the average family pays $17,043 — a 20% difference. 62.7% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Tougaloo's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    83.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    639

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Tougaloo: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $12,407 and on-campus room and board is $8,924, for a published total of $21,331 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $17,043.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 59.9%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Paul Quinn College

    Dallas, TXPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Paul Quinn College: U.S. News ranks it #35 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #268 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1668 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 620 undergraduates, admits 40.3% of applicants, and posts a 26.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,498; aid recipients pay $12,709 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $29,288.

    Acceptance rate
    40.3%
    Average net price
    $12,709
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $29,288
    6-yr graduation rate
    26.9%
    US News · Regional colleges (West)#35 of 104Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#268 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1668 of 2,605

    620 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 39 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Philander Smith University

    Little Rock, ARPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Philander Smith University: Niche ranks it #894 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 751 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 30.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,014; aid recipients pay $14,224 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,427.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $14,224
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $38,427
    6-yr graduation rate
    30.4%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#894 of 2,605Money · Best value (Money)Listed · 3 stars

    751 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 34 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Queens University of Charlotte

    Charlotte, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Queens University of Charlotte: U.S. News ranks it #17 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #870 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #578 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,211 undergraduates, admits 62.1% of applicants, and posts a 61.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $45,846; aid recipients pay $30,857 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,673.

    Acceptance rate
    62.1%
    Average net price
    $30,857
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $57,673
    6-yr graduation rate
    61.3%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#17 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#870 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#578 of 2,605

    1,211 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Tougaloo against these