Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Philander Smith University

Students comparing Philander Smith University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Little Rock, Arkansas751 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 34HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Philander Smith University: Niche ranks it #894 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 751 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 30.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,014; aid recipients pay $14,224 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,427.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Philander Smith University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$14,224

38% below the $23,014 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$38,427

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
30.4%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$24,736

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedPhilander Smith University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Philander Smith ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#894of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges3 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Philander Smith

Philander Smith University is a private nonprofit institution in Little Rock, Arkansas. Federal data show 65.7% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $14,224 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $23,014 sticker cost against $14,224 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Philander Smith University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$13,014

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
67.8%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,000

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $23,014 a year, but the average family pays $14,224 — a 38% difference. 67.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Philander Smith's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    65.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    751

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Philander Smith: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $13,014 and on-campus room and board is $10,000, for a published total of $23,014 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $14,224.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Tougaloo College

    Tougaloo, MSPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Tougaloo College: Washington Monthly ranks it #502 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #834 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 639 undergraduates, admits 59.9% of applicants, and posts a 33.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $12,407; aid recipients pay $17,043 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,724.

    Acceptance rate
    59.9%
    Average net price
    $17,043
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $34,724
    6-yr graduation rate
    33.1%
    Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#502 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#834 of 2,605

    639 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 33 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Florida Southern College

    Lakeland, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Florida Southern College: U.S. News ranks it #11 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1042 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #832 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #19 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 2,656 undergraduates, admits 64.4% of applicants, and posts a 70.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $44,040; aid recipients pay $28,551 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,294.

    Acceptance rate
    64.4%
    Average net price
    $28,551
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,294
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#11 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1042 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#832 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    2,656 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Tuskegee University

    Tuskegee, ALPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Tuskegee University: U.S. News ranks it #9 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #229 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #367 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #712 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 2,630 undergraduates, admits 48.7% of applicants, and posts a 55.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $25,386; aid recipients pay $35,013 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,641.

    Acceptance rate
    48.7%
    Average net price
    $35,013
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,641
    6-yr graduation rate
    55.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#9 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#229 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#367 of 500+2 more on profile

    2,630 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Philander Smith against these