Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Alabama State University

Students comparing Alabama State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Montgomery, Alabama3,477 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 50HBCUPublic universitySmall enrollment

The short answer

Alabama State University: Washington Monthly ranks it #713 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1376 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,477 undergraduates, admits 97.5% of applicants, and posts a 30.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,576; aid recipients pay $20,435 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,502.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
97.5%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$20,435

25% below the $27,392 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$34,502

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
30.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$31,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
749–967

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Alabama State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#713of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1376of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Alabama State's position moves 5 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a moderate spread; the ranking you look at changes the answer somewhat. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Alabama State

Alabama State University is a public institution in Montgomery, Alabama. Federal data show 69.8% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $20,435 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $27,392 sticker cost against $20,435 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Alabama State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$11,248

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$19,576

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$7,816

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $27,392 a year, but the average family pays $20,435 — a 25% difference. 71.3% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Alabama State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    69.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    3,477

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Alabama State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $19,576 and on-campus room and board is $7,816, for a published total of $27,392 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $20,435.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 97.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Harris-Stowe State University

    Saint Louis, MOPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Harris-Stowe State University: U.S. News ranks it #67 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #893 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #809 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 960 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 27.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,640; aid recipients pay $9,922 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,088.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $9,922
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $31,088
    6-yr graduation rate
    27.6%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#67 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#893 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#809 of 2,605

    960 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    South Carolina State University

    Orangeburg, SCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    South Carolina State University: U.S. News ranks it #95 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #366 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1350 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,934 undergraduates, admits 82.6% of applicants, and posts a 36.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,750; aid recipients pay $18,097 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,262.

    Acceptance rate
    82.6%
    Average net price
    $18,097
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $38,262
    6-yr graduation rate
    36.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#95 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#366 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1350 of 2,605

    2,934 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 49 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Alabama State against these