Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Harris-Stowe State University

Students comparing Harris-Stowe State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Saint Louis, Missouri960 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 54HBCUPublic universitySmall enrollment

The short answer

Harris-Stowe State University: U.S. News ranks it #67 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #893 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #809 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 960 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 27.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,640; aid recipients pay $9,922 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,088.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Harris-Stowe State University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$9,922

56% below the $22,368 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$31,088

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
27.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$25,930

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedHarris-Stowe State University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Harris Stowe ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (Midwest)#67of 94Regional colleges (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#893of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#809of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Harris Stowe's position moves 40 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Harris Stowe

Harris-Stowe State University is a public institution in Saint Louis, Missouri. Federal data show 68.4% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $9,922 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $22,368 sticker cost against $9,922 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Harris-Stowe State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,008

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$11,640

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,728

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $22,368 a year, but the average family pays $9,922 — a 56% difference. 73.7% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Harris Stowe's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    68.4%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    960

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Harris Stowe: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $11,640 and on-campus room and board is $10,728, for a published total of $22,368 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $9,922.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    CUNY Medgar Evers College

    Brooklyn, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    CUNY Medgar Evers College: U.S. News ranks it #181 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #342 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1281 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,233 undergraduates, admits 86.1% of applicants, and posts a 19.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,302; aid recipients pay $5,718 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,498.

    Acceptance rate
    86.1%
    Average net price
    $5,718
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,498
    6-yr graduation rate
    19.8%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#181 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#342 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1281 of 2,605

    3,233 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 53 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Northeastern Illinois University

    Chicago, ILPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Northeastern Illinois University: U.S. News ranks it #148 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #211 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #324 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #396 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,982 undergraduates, admits 74.6% of applicants, and posts a 21.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,726; aid recipients pay $14,109 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,234.

    Acceptance rate
    74.6%
    Average net price
    $14,109
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,234
    6-yr graduation rate
    21.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#148 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#211 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#324 of 500+1 more on profile

    3,982 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Harris Stowe against these