Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Savannah State University

Students comparing Savannah State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Savannah, Georgia2,833 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 64HBCUPublic universitySmall enrollment

The short answer

Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Savannah State University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$8,172

74% below the $31,645 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$37,981

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
28.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$28,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedSavannah State University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Savannah State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#112of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#688of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#488of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#778of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Savannah State's position moves 68 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Savannah State

Savannah State University is a public institution in Savannah, Georgia. Federal data show 74.7% first-year retention and a 21:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $8,172 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $31,645 sticker cost against $8,172 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Savannah State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$5,750

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$19,043

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$12,602

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $31,645 a year, but the average family pays $8,172 — a 74% difference. 67.5% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Savannah State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    21:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    74.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,833

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Savannah State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $19,043 and on-campus room and board is $12,602, for a published total of $31,645 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $8,172.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Jackson State University

    Jackson, MSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Jackson State University: U.S. News ranks it #363 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #290 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #496 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #945 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 4,600 undergraduates, admits 93.2% of applicants, and posts a 50.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,965; aid recipients pay $23,836 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $39,060.

    Acceptance rate
    93.2%
    Average net price
    $23,836
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $39,060
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.9%
    US News · National universities#363 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#290 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#496 of 500+1 more on profile

    4,600 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Morehouse College

    Atlanta, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Morehouse College: U.S. News ranks it #95 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1237 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #407 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #811 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 2,844 undergraduates, admits 44.0% of applicants, and posts a 59.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $32,893; aid recipients pay $39,013 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,889.

    Acceptance rate
    44.0%
    Average net price
    $39,013
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,889
    6-yr graduation rate
    59.4%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#95 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1237 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#407 of 500+2 more on profile

    2,844 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Clark Atlanta University

    Atlanta, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Clark Atlanta University: U.S. News ranks it #329 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #992 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #489 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1353 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 3,603 undergraduates, admits 64.2% of applicants, and posts a 49.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,310; aid recipients pay $37,702 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,712.

    Acceptance rate
    64.2%
    Average net price
    $37,702
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,712
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.0%
    US News · National universities#329 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#992 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#489 of 500+2 more on profile

    3,603 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 73 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Savannah State against these