Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of the Southwest

Students comparing University of the Southwest on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Hobbs, New Mexico346 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 63Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of the Southwest: Washington Monthly ranks it #942 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1665 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 346 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 17.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,670; aid recipients pay $16,927 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,389.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by University of the Southwest in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$16,927

32% below the $24,770 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,389

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
17.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,303

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of the Southwest did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where the Southwest ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#942of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1665of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: the Southwest's position moves 1 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About the Southwest

University of the Southwest is a private nonprofit institution in Hobbs, New Mexico. Federal data show 55.1% first-year retention and a 21:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,927 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $24,770 sticker cost against $16,927 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of the Southwest on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$16,670

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
55.2%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$8,100

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $24,770 a year, but the average family pays $16,927 — a 32% difference. 55.2% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run the Southwest's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    21:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    55.1%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    346

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    the Southwest: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $16,670 and on-campus room and board is $8,100, for a published total of $24,770 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,927.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Biola University

    La Mirada, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Biola University: U.S. News ranks it #242 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #391 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1327 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #427 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #348 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 3,474 undergraduates, admits 74.4% of applicants, and posts a 67.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $48,984; aid recipients pay $31,495 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,778.

    Acceptance rate
    74.4%
    Average net price
    $31,495
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,778
    6-yr graduation rate
    67.6%
    US News · National universities#242 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#391 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1327 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    3,474 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Bushnell University

    Eugene, ORPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Bushnell University: U.S. News ranks it #70 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1071 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1627 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 517 undergraduates, admits 67.3% of applicants, and posts a 56.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $35,800; aid recipients pay $20,789 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,623.

    Acceptance rate
    67.3%
    Average net price
    $20,789
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,623
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#70 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1071 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1627 of 2,605

    517 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Arizona Christian University

    Glendale, AZPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Arizona Christian University: U.S. News ranks it #29 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1493 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1457 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,165 undergraduates, admits 70.6% of applicants, and posts a 39.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $35,098; aid recipients pay $32,839 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,612.

    Acceptance rate
    70.6%
    Average net price
    $32,839
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,612
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.9%
    US News · Regional colleges (West)#29 of 104Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1493 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1457 of 2,605

    1,165 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare the Southwest against these