Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

San Juan, PR8,572 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 67Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras: Niche ranks it #1757 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 8,572 undergraduates, admits 54.6% of applicants, and posts a 50.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,354; aid recipients pay $9,175 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $35,723.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
54.6%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$9,175

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$35,723

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
50.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$5,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1757of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a public institution in San Juan, PR. Federal data show 77.2% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $9,175 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $9,175 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$5,354

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$5,354

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    77.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    8,572

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $5,354 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $9,175.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 54.6%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of Louisiana at Lafayette

    Lafayette, LAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Louisiana at Lafayette: U.S. News ranks it #373 on National Universities (2026); WSJ ranks it #465 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #445 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 12,428 undergraduates, admits 87.0% of applicants, and posts a 52.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,146; aid recipients pay $13,530 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,089.

    Acceptance rate
    87.0%
    Average net price
    $13,530
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,089
    6-yr graduation rate
    52.6%
    US News · National universities#373 of 436WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#465 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#445 of 2,605

    12,428 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 65 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    San Antonio, TXPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio: Niche ranks it #1834 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 930 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a not reported six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is not reported; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $82,206.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $82,206
    6-yr graduation rate
    Not reported
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#1834 of 2,605

    930 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 70 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Middle Tennessee State University

    Murfreesboro, TNPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Middle Tennessee State University: U.S. News ranks it #257 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #467 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #425 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #529 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 16,301 undergraduates, admits 69.1% of applicants, and posts a 53.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,574; aid recipients pay $13,359 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,541.

    Acceptance rate
    69.1%
    Average net price
    $13,359
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $48,541
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.7%
    US News · National universities#257 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#467 of 500WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#425 of 500+3 more on profile

    16,301 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras against these