Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Students comparing University of Louisiana at Lafayette on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Lafayette, Louisiana12,428 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 65Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

University of Louisiana at Lafayette: U.S. News ranks it #373 on National Universities (2026); WSJ ranks it #465 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #445 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 12,428 undergraduates, admits 87.0% of applicants, and posts a 52.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,146; aid recipients pay $13,530 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,089.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
87.0%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$13,530

63% below the $36,254 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,089

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
52.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$22,902

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1120–1240

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Louisiana at Lafayette ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Universities#373of 436National universities
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#465of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#445of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Louisiana at Lafayette's position moves 76 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Louisiana at Lafayette

University of Louisiana at Lafayette is a public institution in Lafayette, Louisiana. Federal data show 74.3% first-year retention and a 18:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $13,530 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $36,254 sticker cost against $13,530 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Louisiana at Lafayette on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$10,418

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$24,146

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$12,108

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $36,254 a year, but the average family pays $13,530 — a 63% difference. 41.5% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Louisiana at Lafayette's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    18:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    74.3%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    12,428

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Louisiana at Lafayette: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $24,146 and on-campus room and board is $12,108, for a published total of $36,254 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $13,530.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 87.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Middle Tennessee State University

    Murfreesboro, TNPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Middle Tennessee State University: U.S. News ranks it #257 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #467 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #425 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #529 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 16,301 undergraduates, admits 69.1% of applicants, and posts a 53.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,574; aid recipients pay $13,359 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,541.

    Acceptance rate
    69.1%
    Average net price
    $13,359
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $48,541
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.7%
    US News · National universities#257 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#467 of 500WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#425 of 500+3 more on profile

    16,301 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Boise State University

    Boise, IDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Boise State University: U.S. News ranks it #301 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #483 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #749 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #480 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #463 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 17,674 undergraduates, admits 87.2% of applicants, and posts a 60.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,788; aid recipients pay $21,610 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,658.

    Acceptance rate
    87.2%
    Average net price
    $21,610
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,658
    6-yr graduation rate
    60.2%
    US News · National universities#301 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#483 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#749 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    17,674 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Louisiana at Lafayette against these