Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Northern State University

Students comparing Northern State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Aberdeen, South Dakota1,273 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 56Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Northern State University: U.S. News ranks it #82 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1337 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #729 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,273 undergraduates, admits 93.0% of applicants, and posts a 48.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,947; aid recipients pay $15,812 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,618.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
93.0%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$15,812

30% below the $22,547 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,618

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
48.9%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$22,320

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
980–1160

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Northern State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (Midwest)#82of 165Regional univ. (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1337of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#729of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Northern State's position moves 61 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Northern State

Northern State University is a public institution in Aberdeen, South Dakota. Federal data show 77.0% first-year retention and a 17:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,812 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $22,547 sticker cost against $15,812 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Northern State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,845

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$11,947

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,600

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $22,547 a year, but the average family pays $15,812 — a 30% difference. 12.4% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Northern State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    17:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    77.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,273

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Northern State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $11,947 and on-campus room and board is $10,600, for a published total of $22,547 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,812.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 93.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Mayville State University

    Mayville, NDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Mayville State University: U.S. News ranks it #57 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1211 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #679 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 733 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 40.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,237; aid recipients pay $11,456 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,828.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $11,456
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,828
    6-yr graduation rate
    40.6%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#57 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1211 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#679 of 2,605

    733 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 56 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Chadron State College

    Chadron, NEPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Chadron State College: U.S. News ranks it #135 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #776 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #777 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,540 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 50.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,290; aid recipients pay $12,549 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,002.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $12,549
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,002
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.4%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#135 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#776 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#777 of 2,605

    1,540 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Harris-Stowe State University

    Saint Louis, MOPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Harris-Stowe State University: U.S. News ranks it #67 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #893 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #809 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 960 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 27.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,640; aid recipients pay $9,922 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,088.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $9,922
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $31,088
    6-yr graduation rate
    27.6%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#67 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#893 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#809 of 2,605

    960 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Northern State against these