Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

Mississippi Valley State University

Students comparing Mississippi Valley State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Itta Bena, Mississippi1,439 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 64HBCUPublic universitySmall enrollment

The short answer

Mississippi Valley State University: U.S. News ranks it #118 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1054 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,439 undergraduates, admits 92.4% of applicants, and posts a 26.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $7,692; aid recipients pay $9,686 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,919.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
92.4%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$9,686

42% below the $16,648 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$31,919

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
26.8%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$28,413

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedMississippi Valley State University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Mississippi Valley ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#118of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1054of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Mississippi Valley's position moves 47 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Mississippi Valley

Mississippi Valley State University is a public institution in Itta Bena, Mississippi. Federal data show 69.8% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $9,686 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $16,648 sticker cost against $9,686 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Mississippi Valley State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,692

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$7,692

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$8,956

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $16,648 a year, but the average family pays $9,686 — a 42% difference. 56.4% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Mississippi Valley's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    69.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,439

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Mississippi Valley: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $7,692 and on-campus room and board is $8,956, for a published total of $16,648 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $9,686.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 92.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of the Virgin Islands

    Charlotte Amalie, VIPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of the Virgin Islands: U.S. News ranks it #88 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1820 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,518 undergraduates, admits 99.0% of applicants, and posts a 28.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,557; aid recipients pay $7,469 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,681.

    Acceptance rate
    99.0%
    Average net price
    $7,469
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $38,681
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#88 of 135Niche · Overall (Niche)#1820 of 2,605

    1,518 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 68 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    West Virginia State University

    Institute, WVPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    West Virginia State University: U.S. News ranks it #104 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1441 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1051 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2.5 stars. It enrolls 1,321 undergraduates, admits 96.0% of applicants, and posts a 39.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,990; aid recipients pay $11,139 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,492.

    Acceptance rate
    96.0%
    Average net price
    $11,139
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $40,492
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#104 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1441 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1051 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,321 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 71 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Mississippi Valley against these