Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Art Center College of Design

Students comparing Art Center College of Design on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Pasadena, California2,017 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 74Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

Art Center College of Design: Forbes ranks it #370 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 2,017 undergraduates, admits 74.5% of applicants, and posts a 79.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $54,170; aid recipients pay $48,661 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $71,958.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
74.5%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$48,661

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$71,958

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
79.2%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$31,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedArt Center College of Design reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Art Center ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top Colleges#370of 500Top colleges (Forbes)
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
Money2026Best Value Colleges3 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Art Center

Art Center College of Design is a private nonprofit institution in Pasadena, California. Federal data show 85.9% first-year retention and a 8:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $48,661 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $48,661 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Art Center College of Design on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$54,170

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
21.6%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Art Center College of Design in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Art Center's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    8:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    85.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,017

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Art Center: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $54,170 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $48,661.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 74.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    St. Joseph's University-New York

    Brooklyn, NYPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    St. Joseph's University-New York: U.S. News ranks it #55 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #433 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #2511 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 3,144 undergraduates, admits 72.0% of applicants, and posts a 68.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $36,550; aid recipients pay $19,035 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $63,905.

    Acceptance rate
    72.0%
    Average net price
    $19,035
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $63,905
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#55 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#433 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#2511 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    3,144 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 72 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Marymount University

    Arlington, VAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Marymount University: U.S. News ranks it #273 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #418 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1320 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #700 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 1,810 undergraduates, admits 93.2% of applicants, and posts a 53.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $40,920; aid recipients pay $29,137 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $67,516.

    Acceptance rate
    93.2%
    Average net price
    $29,137
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $67,516
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.5%
    US News · National universities#273 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#418 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1320 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    1,810 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 65 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Regis University

    Denver, COPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Regis University: U.S. News ranks it #273 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #486 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #901 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #507 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 2,627 undergraduates, admits 86.5% of applicants, and posts a 61.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $46,340; aid recipients pay $18,397 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $72,105.

    Acceptance rate
    86.5%
    Average net price
    $18,397
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $72,105
    6-yr graduation rate
    61.0%
    US News · National universities#273 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#486 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#901 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    2,627 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Art Center against these