Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Wilmington University

Students comparing Wilmington University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

New Castle, Delaware7,906 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 49Private nonprofitResearch universityWashington Monthly ranked

The short answer

Wilmington University: Washington Monthly ranks it #891 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1024 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 7,906 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 19.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $12,630; aid recipients pay $15,644 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,844.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Wilmington University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$15,644

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,844

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
19.8%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$20,000

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedWilmington University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Wilmington University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#891of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1024of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges3.5 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Wilmington University's position moves 20 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Wilmington University

Wilmington University is a private nonprofit institution in New Castle, Delaware. Federal data show 61.2% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,644 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $15,644 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Wilmington University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$12,630

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
26.1%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Wilmington University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Wilmington University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    61.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    7,906

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Wilmington University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $12,630 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,644.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Washington College

    Chestertown, MDPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Washington College: U.S. News ranks it #95 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #450 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #580 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #585 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 891 undergraduates, admits 56.9% of applicants, and posts a 65.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $55,326; aid recipients pay $27,898 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $65,518.

    Acceptance rate
    56.9%
    Average net price
    $27,898
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $65,518
    6-yr graduation rate
    65.4%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#95 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#450 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#580 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    891 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 49 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    High Point University

    High Point, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    High Point University: U.S. News ranks it #1 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #491 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1214 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #482 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 College Dorms. It enrolls 5,129 undergraduates, admits 75.3% of applicants, and posts a 73.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $45,312; aid recipients pay $38,707 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $61,389.

    Acceptance rate
    75.3%
    Average net price
    $38,707
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $61,389
    6-yr graduation rate
    73.7%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#1 of 131Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#491 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1214 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    5,129 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 50 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Hollins University

    Roanoke, VAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Hollins University: U.S. News ranks it #136 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #735 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #858 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #15 Most Active Student Government. It enrolls 665 undergraduates, admits 68.0% of applicants, and posts a 64.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $43,560; aid recipients pay $20,896 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,075.

    Acceptance rate
    68.0%
    Average net price
    $20,896
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $40,075
    6-yr graduation rate
    64.6%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#136 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#735 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#858 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    665 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 49 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Wilmington University against these