Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Western New Mexico University

Students comparing Western New Mexico University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Silver City, New Mexico2,026 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 29Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Western New Mexico University: Niche ranks it #745 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,026 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 32.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,342; aid recipients pay $8,522 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $39,095.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Western New Mexico University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$8,522

66% below the $25,282 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$39,095

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
32.2%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$23,000

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedWestern New Mexico University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Western New ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#745of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Western New

Western New Mexico University is a public institution in Silver City, New Mexico. Federal data show 58.1% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $8,522 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $25,282 sticker cost against $8,522 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Western New Mexico University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,856

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$14,342

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,940

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $25,282 a year, but the average family pays $8,522 — a 66% difference. 43.5% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Western New's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    58.1%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,026

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Western New: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $14,342 and on-campus room and board is $10,940, for a published total of $25,282 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $8,522.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Montana State University-Northern

    Havre, MTPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Montana State University-Northern: U.S. News ranks it #22 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Niche ranks it #921 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 761 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 41.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,875; aid recipients pay $12,664 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,505.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $12,664
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,505
    6-yr graduation rate
    41.1%
    US News · Regional colleges (West)#22 of 104Niche · Overall (Niche)#921 of 2,605

    761 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 28 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Fort Lewis College

    Durango, COPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Fort Lewis College: U.S. News ranks it #19 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #482 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #971 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,079 undergraduates, admits 77.3% of applicants, and posts a 35.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,526; aid recipients pay $17,296 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,349.

    Acceptance rate
    77.3%
    Average net price
    $17,296
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,349
    6-yr graduation rate
    35.6%
    US News · Regional colleges (West)#19 of 104Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#482 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#971 of 2,605

    3,079 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 29 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Hawaii-West Oahu

    Kapolei, HIPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Hawaii-West Oahu: U.S. News ranks it #10 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #921 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #286 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 2,519 undergraduates, admits 95.3% of applicants, and posts a 49.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,544; aid recipients pay $10,327 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,075.

    Acceptance rate
    95.3%
    Average net price
    $10,327
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,075
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.5%
    US News · Regional colleges (West)#10 of 104Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#921 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#286 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    2,519 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 27 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Western New against these