Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Walla Walla University

Students comparing Walla Walla University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

College Place, Washington1,252 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 50Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Walla Walla University: U.S. News ranks it #47 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1218 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #746 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,252 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 59.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $34,227; aid recipients pay $23,329 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $61,885.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Walla Walla University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$23,329

48% below the $45,060 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$61,885

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
59.9%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$26,842

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedWalla Walla University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Walla Walla ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (West)#47of 118Regional univ. (West)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1218of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#746of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Walla Walla's position moves 52 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Walla Walla

Walla Walla University is a private nonprofit institution in College Place, Washington. Federal data show 84.9% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $23,329 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $45,060 sticker cost against $23,329 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Walla Walla University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$34,227

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
26.0%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,833

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $45,060 a year, but the average family pays $23,329 — a 48% difference. 26.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Walla Walla's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    84.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,252

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Walla Walla: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $34,227 and on-campus room and board is $10,833, for a published total of $45,060 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $23,329.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Woodbury University

    Burbank, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Woodbury University: U.S. News ranks it #47 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1115 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #925 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 779 undergraduates, admits 81.7% of applicants, and posts a 60.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $47,056; aid recipients pay $33,692 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $65,668.

    Acceptance rate
    81.7%
    Average net price
    $33,692
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $65,668
    6-yr graduation rate
    60.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#47 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1115 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#925 of 2,605

    779 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 50 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Westmont College

    Santa Barbara, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Westmont College: U.S. News ranks it #108 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #325 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1016 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #430 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 1,302 undergraduates, admits 77.0% of applicants, and posts a 70.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $53,584; aid recipients pay $29,053 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,778.

    Acceptance rate
    77.0%
    Average net price
    $29,053
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $64,778
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.3%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#108 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#325 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1016 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    1,302 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 50 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Prescott College

    Prescott, AZPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Prescott College: U.S. News ranks it #96 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #121 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1633 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 219 undergraduates, admits 94.5% of applicants, and posts a 55.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $35,685; aid recipients pay $22,583 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,359.

    Acceptance rate
    94.5%
    Average net price
    $22,583
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,359
    6-yr graduation rate
    55.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#96 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#121 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1633 of 2,605

    219 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 51 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Walla Walla against these