Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Mayaguez, PR9,539 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 53Public universityResearch universityU.S. News ranked

The short answer

University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez: U.S. News ranks it #48 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #276 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #1755 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 9,539 undergraduates, admits 56.5% of applicants, and posts a 49.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,274; aid recipients pay $17,936 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,992.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
56.5%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$17,936

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$48,992

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
49.1%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$8,250

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Puerto Rico-Mayaguez ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#48of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top Colleges#276of 500Top colleges (Forbes)
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1755of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Puerto Rico-Mayaguez's position moves 32 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Puerto Rico-Mayaguez

University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is a public institution in Mayaguez, PR. Federal data show 87.0% first-year retention and a 19:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $17,936 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $17,936 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$5,274

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$5,274

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Puerto Rico-Mayaguez's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    19:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    87.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    9,539

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Puerto Rico-Mayaguez: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $5,274 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $17,936.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 56.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Tennessee Technological University

    Cookeville, TNPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Tennessee Technological University: U.S. News ranks it #257 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #447 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #257 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 8,698 undergraduates, admits 76.1% of applicants, and posts a 57.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,576; aid recipients pay $14,246 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,501.

    Acceptance rate
    76.1%
    Average net price
    $14,246
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $48,501
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.7%
    US News · National universities#257 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#447 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#257 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    8,698 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 53 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Alabama in Huntsville

    Huntsville, ALPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Alabama in Huntsville: U.S. News ranks it #242 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #352 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #390 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #225 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 6,591 undergraduates, admits 68.6% of applicants, and posts a 64.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $26,408; aid recipients pay $18,796 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $61,767.

    Acceptance rate
    68.6%
    Average net price
    $18,796
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $61,767
    6-yr graduation rate
    64.3%
    US News · National universities#242 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#352 of 500WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#390 of 500+2 more on profile

    6,591 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 53 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    College of Charleston

    Charleston, SCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    College of Charleston: U.S. News ranks it #9 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #431 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #888 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #377 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #803 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 10,558 undergraduates, admits 60.0% of applicants, and posts a 65.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $38,296; aid recipients pay $18,960 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,416.

    Acceptance rate
    60.0%
    Average net price
    $18,960
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,416
    6-yr graduation rate
    65.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#9 of 135Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#431 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#888 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    10,558 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 52 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Puerto Rico-Mayaguez against these