Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico at Ponce on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Ponce, PR2,278 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 46Public universitySmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce: U.S. News ranks it #30 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1792 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,278 undergraduates, admits 52.4% of applicants, and posts a 46.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,354; aid recipients pay $10,990 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,394.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
52.4%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$10,990

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$31,394

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
46.2%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$5,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Puerto Rico at Ponce reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Puerto Rico at Ponce ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#30of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1792of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Puerto Rico at Ponce's position moves 46 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Puerto Rico at Ponce

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is a public institution in Ponce, PR. Federal data show 73.0% first-year retention and a 21:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $10,990 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $10,990 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico at Ponce on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$5,354

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$5,354

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Puerto Rico at Ponce in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Puerto Rico at Ponce's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    21:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    73.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,278

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Puerto Rico at Ponce: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $5,354 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $10,990.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 52.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of Texas Permian Basin

    Odessa, TXPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Texas Permian Basin: U.S. News ranks it #61 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #878 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #412 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,911 undergraduates, admits 94.9% of applicants, and posts a 39.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,504; aid recipients pay $12,723 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,073.

    Acceptance rate
    94.9%
    Average net price
    $12,723
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,073
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#61 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#878 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#412 of 2,605

    3,911 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 42 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Northeastern Illinois University

    Chicago, ILPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Northeastern Illinois University: U.S. News ranks it #148 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #211 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #324 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #396 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,982 undergraduates, admits 74.6% of applicants, and posts a 21.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,726; aid recipients pay $14,109 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,234.

    Acceptance rate
    74.6%
    Average net price
    $14,109
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,234
    6-yr graduation rate
    21.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#148 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#211 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#324 of 500+1 more on profile

    3,982 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Louisiana State University-Shreveport

    Shreveport, LAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Louisiana State University-Shreveport: U.S. News ranks it #95 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #254 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,153 undergraduates, admits 50.5% of applicants, and posts a 37.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $7,518; aid recipients pay $7,022 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,477.

    Acceptance rate
    50.5%
    Average net price
    $7,022
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,477
    6-yr graduation rate
    37.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#95 of 135Niche · Overall (Niche)#254 of 2,605

    2,153 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 40 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Puerto Rico at Ponce against these