Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Pikeville

Students comparing University of Pikeville on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Pikeville, Kentucky1,135 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 35Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of Pikeville: Washington Monthly ranks it #699 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #635 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,135 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 41.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,850; aid recipients pay $20,311 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,231.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by University of Pikeville in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$20,311

40% below the $33,850 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$48,231

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
41.7%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$20,679

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Pikeville did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Pikeville ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#699of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#635of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Pikeville's position moves 22 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Pikeville

University of Pikeville is a private nonprofit institution in Pikeville, Kentucky. Federal data show 68.7% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $20,311 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $33,850 sticker cost against $20,311 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Pikeville on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$24,850

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
38.0%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,000

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $33,850 a year, but the average family pays $20,311 — a 40% difference. 38.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Pikeville's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    68.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,135

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Pikeville: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $24,850 and on-campus room and board is $9,000, for a published total of $33,850 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $20,311.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Millsaps College

    Jackson, MSPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Millsaps College: U.S. News ranks it #136 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #429 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #352 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 549 undergraduates, admits 43.1% of applicants, and posts a 57.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $44,680; aid recipients pay $26,034 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,848.

    Acceptance rate
    43.1%
    Average net price
    $26,034
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,848
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.1%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#136 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#429 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#352 of 2,605

    549 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Berry College

    Mount Berry, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Berry College: U.S. News ranks it #4 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #401 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #420 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #704 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #16 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 2,245 undergraduates, admits 64.0% of applicants, and posts a 69.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $41,686; aid recipients pay $22,320 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,800.

    Acceptance rate
    64.0%
    Average net price
    $22,320
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,800
    6-yr graduation rate
    69.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#4 of 135Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#401 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#420 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    2,245 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 35 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    McDaniel College

    Westminster, MDPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    McDaniel College: U.S. News ranks it #84 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #374 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #176 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #942 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #23 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 1,617 undergraduates, admits 77.9% of applicants, and posts a 63.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $52,081; aid recipients pay $21,916 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,663.

    Acceptance rate
    77.9%
    Average net price
    $21,916
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,663
    6-yr graduation rate
    63.3%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#84 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#374 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#176 of 500+3 more on profile

    1,617 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Pikeville against these