Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

United States Coast Guard Academy

Students comparing United States Coast Guard Academy on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

New London, Connecticut1,108 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 30Public universitySelectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

United States Coast Guard Academy: U.S. News ranks it #1 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #1510 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,108 undergraduates, admits 22.4% of applicants, and posts a 92.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is not reported; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
22.4%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
Not reportedNot reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedNot reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

6-year graduation rate
92.7%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
1240–1400

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where United States ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (North)#1of 68Regional colleges (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1510of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)ListedOverall (Niche)
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: United States's position moves 56 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About United States

United States Coast Guard Academy is a public institution in New London, Connecticut. Federal data show 98.6% first-year retention and a 7:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price not reported reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against not reported net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing United States Coast Guard Academy on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
Not reportedNot reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Out-of-state tuition & fees
Not reportedNot reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year. Not reported by United States Coast Guard Academy in the most recent federal collection.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run United States's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    7:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    98.6%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,108

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    United States: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is not reported and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is not reported.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 22.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Truman State University

    Kirksville, MOPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Truman State University: U.S. News ranks it #5 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Forbes ranks it #257 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #590 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #740 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,513 undergraduates, admits 83.8% of applicants, and posts a 68.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $18,566; aid recipients pay $12,780 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,280.

    Acceptance rate
    83.8%
    Average net price
    $12,780
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,280
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#5 of 165Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#257 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#590 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    2,513 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    San Diego State University

    San Diego, CAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    San Diego State University: U.S. News ranks it #117 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #87 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #115 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #163 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #248 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1092 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 35,377 undergraduates, admits 36.2% of applicants, and posts a 76.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,328; aid recipients pay $15,364 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,909.

    Acceptance rate
    36.2%
    Average net price
    $15,364
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $64,909
    6-yr graduation rate
    76.4%
    US News · National universities#117 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#87 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#115 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    35,377 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 28 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Clemson University

    Clemson, SCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Clemson University: U.S. News ranks it #75 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #86 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #654 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #93 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #76 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 10 Career Services; QS ranks it #961 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 23,300 undergraduates, admits 38.3% of applicants, and posts a 86.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $40,866; aid recipients pay $22,253 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $71,513.

    Acceptance rate
    38.3%
    Average net price
    $22,253
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $71,513
    6-yr graduation rate
    86.6%
    US News · National universities#75 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#86 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#654 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    23,300 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 27 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare United States against these