Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · basic profile (federal data)

SUNY College at Potsdam

Students comparing SUNY College at Potsdam on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Potsdam, New York1,823 undergraduatesPublic universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

SUNY College at Potsdam enrolls 1,823 undergraduates and admits 77.7% of applicants. Out-of-state tuition is $18,678; aid recipients pay an average net price of $13,624. Six-year graduation rate: 45.3%; median earnings ten years after entry: $47,866. Rankings and long-form editorial for this school are being added for launch.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
77.7%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$13,624

60% below the $33,958 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,866

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
45.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$24,250

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedSUNY College at Potsdam did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where SUNY College ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

No 2026 ranking from a publisher we track appears for SUNY College yet. The three sources below are loaded for the full roster; when a row says not ranked by this source, that publisher simply does not include this school on a list we track — not that we are missing a number. Federal cost, admissions, graduation, earnings and debt on this profile are complete and citable.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About SUNY College

SUNY College at Potsdam is a public institution in Potsdam, New York. Federal data show 77.7% first-year retention and a 10:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; verified publisher rankings will be added as the launch dataset is completed.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $13,624 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $33,958 sticker cost against $13,624 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing SUNY College at Potsdam on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,768

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$18,678

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$15,280

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $33,958 a year, but the average family pays $13,624 — a 60% difference. 40.3% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run SUNY College's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    10:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    77.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,823

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    SUNY College: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $18,678 and on-campus room and board is $15,280, for a published total of $33,958 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $13,624.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 77.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Charter Oak State College

    New Britain, CTPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Charter Oak State College: Forbes ranks it #389 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #1852 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,821 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 66.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,506; aid recipients pay $15,815 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,209.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $15,815
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $64,209
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.7%
    Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#389 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#1852 of 2,605

    1,821 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 74 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Cheyney University of Pennsylvania

    Cheyney, PAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Cheyney University of Pennsylvania: Niche ranks it #1428 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 617 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 40.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $18,870; aid recipients pay $14,265 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,837.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $14,265
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,837
    6-yr graduation rate
    40.6%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#1428 of 2,605

    617 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 55 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    CUNY Graduate School and University Center

    New York, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    CUNY Graduate School and University Center: Niche ranks it #1498 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,254 undergraduates, admits 68.5% of applicants, and posts a not reported six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,185; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $65,991.

    Acceptance rate
    68.5%
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $65,991
    6-yr graduation rate
    Not reported
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#1498 of 2,605

    3,254 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 58 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare SUNY College against these