Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

St. John's College

Students comparing St. John's College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Santa Fe, New Mexico368 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 37Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

St. John's College: U.S. News ranks it #83 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #532 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #25 Best College Library. It enrolls 368 undergraduates, admits 53.1% of applicants, and posts a 54.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $40,504; aid recipients pay $26,674 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,985.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
53.1%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$26,674

53% below the $56,592 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,985

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
54.9%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by St. John's College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
1290–1460

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where St. John's ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Liberal Arts Colleges#83of 210Liberal arts colleges
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#532of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)#25 Best College LibraryListedOverall (Niche)
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: St. John's's position moves 4 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About St. John's

St. John's College is a private nonprofit institution in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Federal data show 82.4% first-year retention and a 7:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $26,674 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $56,592 sticker cost against $26,674 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing St. John's College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$40,504

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
27.0%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$16,088

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $56,592 a year, but the average family pays $26,674 — a 53% difference. 27.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run St. John's's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    7:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    82.4%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    368

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    St. John's: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $40,504 and on-campus room and board is $16,088, for a published total of $56,592 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $26,674.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 53.1%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Lewis & Clark College

    Portland, ORPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Lewis & Clark College: U.S. News ranks it #103 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #371 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #234 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #713 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 Least Religious Students. It enrolls 2,120 undergraduates, admits 78.5% of applicants, and posts a 75.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $64,828; aid recipients pay $36,013 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $62,205.

    Acceptance rate
    78.5%
    Average net price
    $36,013
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $62,205
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.4%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#103 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#371 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#234 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    2,120 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 42 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Pepperdine University

    Malibu, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Pepperdine University: U.S. News ranks it #84 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #123 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1069 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #145 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #437 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #12 Most Beautiful Campus. It enrolls 3,553 undergraduates, admits 62.9% of applicants, and posts a 83.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $69,918; aid recipients pay $58,098 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $82,939.

    Acceptance rate
    62.9%
    Average net price
    $58,098
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $82,939
    6-yr graduation rate
    83.4%
    US News · National universities#84 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#123 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1069 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    3,553 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 32 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Juniata College

    Huntingdon, PAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Juniata College: U.S. News ranks it #90 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #260 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #353 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #562 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #2 Financial Aid. It enrolls 1,191 undergraduates, admits 78.9% of applicants, and posts a 73.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $58,580; aid recipients pay $23,988 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,918.

    Acceptance rate
    78.9%
    Average net price
    $23,988
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,918
    6-yr graduation rate
    73.5%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#90 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#260 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#353 of 500+3 more on profile

    1,191 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 38 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare St. John's against these