Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Saginaw Valley State University

Students comparing Saginaw Valley State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

University Center, Michigan5,989 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 38Public universityResearch universityU.S. News ranked

The short answer

Saginaw Valley State University: U.S. News ranks it #103 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #404 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #682 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 5,989 undergraduates, admits 72.1% of applicants, and posts a 48.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $30,450; aid recipients pay $10,775 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,955.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
72.1%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$10,775

75% below the $42,790 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$51,955

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
48.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$25,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
920–1170

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Saginaw Valley ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (Midwest)#103of 165Regional univ. (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#404of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#682of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Saginaw Valley's position moves 36 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Saginaw Valley

Saginaw Valley State University is a public institution in University Center, Michigan. Federal data show 77.6% first-year retention and a 15:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $10,775 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $42,790 sticker cost against $10,775 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Saginaw Valley State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$12,930

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$30,450

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$12,340

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $42,790 a year, but the average family pays $10,775 — a 75% difference. 35.2% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Saginaw Valley's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    15:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    77.6%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    5,989

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Saginaw Valley: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $30,450 and on-campus room and board is $12,340, for a published total of $42,790 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $10,775.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 72.1%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Ferris State University

    Big Rapids, MIPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Ferris State University: U.S. News ranks it #329 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #380 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #395 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 8,106 undergraduates, admits 91.4% of applicants, and posts a 46.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,778; aid recipients pay $8,624 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $54,735.

    Acceptance rate
    91.4%
    Average net price
    $8,624
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $54,735
    6-yr graduation rate
    46.9%
    US News · National universities#329 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#380 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#395 of 2,605

    8,106 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 39 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Lake Superior State University

    Sault Ste Marie, MIPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Lake Superior State University: U.S. News ranks it #13 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1092 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #739 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,325 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 51.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,890; aid recipients pay $12,822 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,045.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $12,822
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,045
    6-yr graduation rate
    51.0%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#13 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1092 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#739 of 2,605

    1,325 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 38 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Pittsburg State University

    Pittsburg, KSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Pittsburg State University: U.S. News ranks it #82 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #791 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #379 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 4,210 undergraduates, admits 89.4% of applicants, and posts a 56.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,744; aid recipients pay $15,784 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $50,579.

    Acceptance rate
    89.4%
    Average net price
    $15,784
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $50,579
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#82 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#791 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#379 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    4,210 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 39 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Saginaw Valley against these