Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Plymouth State University

Students comparing Plymouth State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Plymouth, New Hampshire3,153 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 61Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Plymouth State University: U.S. News ranks it #142 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #839 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1172 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,153 undergraduates, admits 87.5% of applicants, and posts a 52.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $25,566; aid recipients pay $19,216 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,304.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
87.5%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$19,216

50% below the $38,724 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$57,304

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
52.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$26,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedPlymouth State University reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Plymouth State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (North)#142of 170Regional univ. (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#839of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1172of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Plymouth State's position moves 39 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Plymouth State

Plymouth State University is a public institution in Plymouth, New Hampshire. Federal data show 68.5% first-year retention and a 15:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $19,216 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $38,724 sticker cost against $19,216 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Plymouth State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$14,626

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$25,566

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$13,158

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $38,724 a year, but the average family pays $19,216 — a 50% difference. 28.1% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Plymouth State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    15:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    68.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    3,153

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Plymouth State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $25,566 and on-campus room and board is $13,158, for a published total of $38,724 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $19,216.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 87.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of Maine at Augusta

    Augusta, MEPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Maine at Augusta: U.S. News ranks it #40 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1217 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1057 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,659 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 27.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,178; aid recipients pay $10,924 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,342.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $10,924
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $40,342
    6-yr graduation rate
    27.0%
    US News · Regional colleges (North)#40 of 68Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1217 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1057 of 2,605

    2,659 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    SUNY at Purchase College

    Purchase, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    SUNY at Purchase College: U.S. News ranks it #136 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #880 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1264 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 College Theater. It enrolls 3,197 undergraduates, admits 74.1% of applicants, and posts a 62.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,203; aid recipients pay $18,913 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,092.

    Acceptance rate
    74.1%
    Average net price
    $18,913
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $45,092
    6-yr graduation rate
    62.8%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#136 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#880 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1264 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    3,197 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 57 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Southern Oregon University

    Ashland, ORPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Southern Oregon University: U.S. News ranks it #87 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #932 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1239 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,751 undergraduates, admits 88.6% of applicants, and posts a 42.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,887; aid recipients pay $16,732 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,175.

    Acceptance rate
    88.6%
    Average net price
    $16,732
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,175
    6-yr graduation rate
    42.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#87 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#932 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1239 of 2,605

    2,751 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Plymouth State against these