Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Pillar College

Students comparing Pillar College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Newark, New Jersey498 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 48Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

Pillar College: Washington Monthly ranks it #514 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1617 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 498 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 38.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $25,900; aid recipients pay $8,470 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,577.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Pillar College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$8,470

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,577

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
38.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,483

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedPillar College did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Pillar ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#514of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1617of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Pillar's position moves 28 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Pillar

Pillar College is a private nonprofit institution in Newark, New Jersey. Federal data show 74.1% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $8,470 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $8,470 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Pillar College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$25,900

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
69.9%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Pillar College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Pillar's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    74.1%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    498

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Pillar: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $25,900 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $8,470.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Canisius University

    Buffalo, NYPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Canisius University: U.S. News ranks it #31 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #425 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #720 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1098 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 1,685 undergraduates, admits 72.4% of applicants, and posts a 66.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $34,500; aid recipients pay $17,940 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,681.

    Acceptance rate
    72.4%
    Average net price
    $17,940
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,681
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.4%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#31 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#425 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#720 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    1,685 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 48 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Cedar Crest College

    Allentown, PAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Cedar Crest College: U.S. News ranks it #74 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #785 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #215 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1355 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 834 undergraduates, admits 84.1% of applicants, and posts a 60.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $46,314; aid recipients pay $18,659 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $59,460.

    Acceptance rate
    84.1%
    Average net price
    $18,659
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $59,460
    6-yr graduation rate
    60.4%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#74 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#785 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#215 of 500+2 more on profile

    834 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 48 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Emerson College

    Boston, MAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Emerson College: U.S. News ranks it #19 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #410 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #984 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #952 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 10 College Radio Station. It enrolls 3,870 undergraduates, admits 51.3% of applicants, and posts a 77.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $57,056; aid recipients pay $49,180 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $62,832.

    Acceptance rate
    51.3%
    Average net price
    $49,180
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $62,832
    6-yr graduation rate
    77.1%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#19 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#410 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#984 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    3,870 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 49 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Pillar against these