Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

Peru State College

Students comparing Peru State College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Peru, Nebraska1,092 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 45Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Peru State College: Washington Monthly ranks it #840 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #899 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,092 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 37.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,640; aid recipients pay $11,632 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,071.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Peru State College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$11,632

39% below the $19,104 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,071

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
37.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,875

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedPeru State College did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Peru State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#840of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#899of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Peru State's position moves 21 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Peru State

Peru State College is a public institution in Peru, Nebraska. Federal data show 64.5% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $11,632 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $19,104 sticker cost against $11,632 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Peru State College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,640

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$8,640

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,464

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $19,104 a year, but the average family pays $11,632 — a 39% difference. 36.9% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Peru State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    64.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,092

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Peru State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $8,640 and on-campus room and board is $10,464, for a published total of $19,104 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $11,632.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Indiana University-Southeast

    New Albany, INPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Indiana University-Southeast: U.S. News ranks it #138 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #466 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #515 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,170 undergraduates, admits 84.5% of applicants, and posts a 39.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,811; aid recipients pay $7,888 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,596.

    Acceptance rate
    84.5%
    Average net price
    $7,888
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,596
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#138 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#466 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#515 of 2,605

    3,170 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 45 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Northeastern Illinois University

    Chicago, ILPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Northeastern Illinois University: U.S. News ranks it #148 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #211 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #324 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #396 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,982 undergraduates, admits 74.6% of applicants, and posts a 21.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,726; aid recipients pay $14,109 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,234.

    Acceptance rate
    74.6%
    Average net price
    $14,109
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,234
    6-yr graduation rate
    21.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#148 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#211 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#324 of 500+1 more on profile

    3,982 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Bemidji State University

    Bemidji, MNPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Bemidji State University: U.S. News ranks it #91 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #755 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #592 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,139 undergraduates, admits 56.0% of applicants, and posts a 47.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $10,237; aid recipients pay $15,261 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,755.

    Acceptance rate
    56.0%
    Average net price
    $15,261
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,755
    6-yr graduation rate
    47.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#91 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#755 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#592 of 2,605

    3,139 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 43 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Peru State against these