Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Mary Baldwin University

Students comparing Mary Baldwin University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Staunton, Virginia1,090 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 60Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Mary Baldwin University: U.S. News ranks it #384 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #603 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1373 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,090 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 39.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $34,152; aid recipients pay $12,756 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,427.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Mary Baldwin University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$12,756

72% below the $45,563 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,427

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
39.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$26,586

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedMary Baldwin University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Mary Baldwin ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Universities#384of 436National universities
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#603of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1373of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Mary Baldwin's position moves 48 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Mary Baldwin

Mary Baldwin University is a private nonprofit institution in Staunton, Virginia. Federal data show 66.8% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $12,756 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $45,563 sticker cost against $12,756 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Mary Baldwin University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$34,152

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
55.3%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$11,411

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $45,563 a year, but the average family pays $12,756 — a 72% difference. 55.3% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Mary Baldwin's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    66.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,090

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Mary Baldwin: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $34,152 and on-campus room and board is $11,411, for a published total of $45,563 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $12,756.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Morehouse College

    Atlanta, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Morehouse College: U.S. News ranks it #95 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1237 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #407 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #811 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 2,844 undergraduates, admits 44.0% of applicants, and posts a 59.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $32,893; aid recipients pay $39,013 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,889.

    Acceptance rate
    44.0%
    Average net price
    $39,013
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,889
    6-yr graduation rate
    59.4%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#95 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1237 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#407 of 500+2 more on profile

    2,844 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Shenandoah University

    Winchester, VAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Shenandoah University: U.S. News ranks it #301 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1232 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #757 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,116 undergraduates, admits 77.0% of applicants, and posts a 66.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $36,950; aid recipients pay $30,298 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $58,433.

    Acceptance rate
    77.0%
    Average net price
    $30,298
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $58,433
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.8%
    US News · National universities#301 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1232 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#757 of 2,605

    2,116 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Eckerd College

    Saint Petersburg, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Eckerd College: U.S. News ranks it #126 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1360 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #835 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 College Radio Station. It enrolls 1,888 undergraduates, admits 75.8% of applicants, and posts a 65.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $51,884; aid recipients pay $38,071 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,819.

    Acceptance rate
    75.8%
    Average net price
    $38,071
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,819
    6-yr graduation rate
    65.9%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#126 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1360 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#835 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,888 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Mary Baldwin against these