Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Indiana University-Kokomo

Students comparing Indiana University-Kokomo on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Kokomo, Indiana2,352 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 36Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Indiana University-Kokomo: U.S. News ranks it #118 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #308 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #404 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,352 undergraduates, admits 86.5% of applicants, and posts a 45.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,811; aid recipients pay $3,968 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,917.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
86.5%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$3,968

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,917

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
45.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$16,961

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
960–1150

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Indiana University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (Midwest)#118of 165Regional univ. (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#308of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#404of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Indiana University's position moves 56 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Indiana University

Indiana University-Kokomo is a public institution in Kokomo, Indiana. Federal data show 69.3% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $3,968 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $3,968 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Indiana University-Kokomo on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,424

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$22,811

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Indiana University-Kokomo in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Indiana University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    69.3%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,352

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Indiana University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $22,811 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $3,968.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 86.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Valley City State University

    Valley City, NDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Valley City State University: U.S. News ranks it #24 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #964 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #369 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 958 undergraduates, admits 99.1% of applicants, and posts a 53.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,544; aid recipients pay $11,890 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,725.

    Acceptance rate
    99.1%
    Average net price
    $11,890
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,725
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.3%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#24 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#964 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#369 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    958 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 35 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Illinois Springfield

    Springfield, ILPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Illinois Springfield: U.S. News ranks it #28 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Forbes ranks it #387 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #518 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #551 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 2,263 undergraduates, admits 85.9% of applicants, and posts a 53.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,017; aid recipients pay $9,833 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,103.

    Acceptance rate
    85.9%
    Average net price
    $9,833
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $57,103
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#28 of 165Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#387 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#518 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    2,263 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 37 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Emporia State University

    Emporia, KSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Emporia State University: U.S. News ranks it #82 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #545 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #385 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,239 undergraduates, admits 97.7% of applicants, and posts a 56.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,419; aid recipients pay $16,261 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,601.

    Acceptance rate
    97.7%
    Average net price
    $16,261
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,601
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.1%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#82 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#545 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#385 of 2,605

    2,239 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 34 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Indiana University against these