Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Franklin University

Students comparing Franklin University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Columbus, Ohio5,562 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 53Private nonprofitUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

Franklin University: Washington Monthly ranks it #1144 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #772 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 5,562 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 11.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $9,577; aid recipients pay $25,243 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,892.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Franklin University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$25,243

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$51,892

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
11.1%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$20,836

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedFranklin University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Franklin University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1144of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#772of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Franklin University's position moves 46 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Franklin University

Franklin University is a private nonprofit institution in Columbus, Ohio. Federal data show 35.9% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $25,243 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $25,243 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Franklin University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$9,577

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
37.2%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Franklin University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Franklin University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    35.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    5,562

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Franklin University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $9,577 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $25,243.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Union Adventist University

    Lincoln, NEPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Union Adventist University: U.S. News ranks it #14 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1250 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1581 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 471 undergraduates, admits 100.0% of applicants, and posts a 52.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $29,334; aid recipients pay $23,716 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,045.

    Acceptance rate
    100.0%
    Average net price
    $23,716
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,045
    6-yr graduation rate
    52.3%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#14 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1250 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1581 of 2,605

    471 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 53 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Sioux Falls

    Sioux Falls, SDPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Sioux Falls: U.S. News ranks it #82 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1101 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #946 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,218 undergraduates, admits 82.9% of applicants, and posts a 62.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,750; aid recipients pay $21,383 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $54,521.

    Acceptance rate
    82.9%
    Average net price
    $21,383
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $54,521
    6-yr graduation rate
    62.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#82 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1101 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#946 of 2,605

    1,218 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 53 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Avila University

    Kansas City, MOPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Avila University: U.S. News ranks it #117 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #705 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #997 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,312 undergraduates, admits 87.8% of applicants, and posts a 52.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $42,000; aid recipients pay $16,053 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,773.

    Acceptance rate
    87.8%
    Average net price
    $16,053
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,773
    6-yr graduation rate
    52.4%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#117 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#705 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#997 of 2,605

    1,312 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 52 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Franklin University against these