Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

CUNY New York City College of Technology

Students comparing CUNY New York City College of Technology on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Brooklyn, New York13,580 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 40Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

CUNY New York City College of Technology: U.S. News ranks it #21 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #1258 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 13,580 undergraduates, admits 80.3% of applicants, and posts a 21.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,282; aid recipients pay $5,127 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,365.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
80.3%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$5,127

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,365

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
21.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$10,533

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
900–1140

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where CUNY New ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (North)#21of 68Regional colleges (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1258of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: CUNY New's position moves 17 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About CUNY New

CUNY New York City College of Technology is a public institution in Brooklyn, New York. Federal data show 64.9% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $5,127 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $5,127 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing CUNY New York City College of Technology on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,332

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$15,282

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by CUNY New York City College of Technology in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run CUNY New's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    64.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    13,580

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    CUNY New: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $15,282 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $5,127.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 80.3%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Southern Connecticut State University

    New Haven, CTPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Southern Connecticut State University: U.S. News ranks it #66 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #916 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 6,295 undergraduates, admits 91.5% of applicants, and posts a 49.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,378; aid recipients pay $20,857 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,043.

    Acceptance rate
    91.5%
    Average net price
    $20,857
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,043
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#66 of 170Niche · Overall (Niche)#916 of 2,605Money · Best value (Money)Listed · 3 stars

    6,295 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 37 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Worcester State University

    Worcester, MAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Worcester State University: U.S. News ranks it #97 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #565 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #964 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 3,930 undergraduates, admits 88.0% of applicants, and posts a 61.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,866; aid recipients pay $13,381 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,624.

    Acceptance rate
    88.0%
    Average net price
    $13,381
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,624
    6-yr graduation rate
    61.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#97 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#565 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#964 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    3,930 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    SUNY Maritime College

    Throggs Neck, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    SUNY Maritime College: U.S. News ranks it #25 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #227 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #702 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #819 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 1,285 undergraduates, admits 72.4% of applicants, and posts a 64.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,159; aid recipients pay $22,367 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $95,951.

    Acceptance rate
    72.4%
    Average net price
    $22,367
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $95,951
    6-yr graduation rate
    64.4%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#25 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#227 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#702 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    1,285 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 35 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare CUNY New against these