Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

CUNY Brooklyn College

Students comparing CUNY Brooklyn College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Brooklyn, New York10,543 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 26Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

CUNY Brooklyn College: U.S. News ranks it #39 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #183 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #84 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #243 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #460 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 10,543 undergraduates, admits 58.4% of applicants, and posts a 53.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,402; aid recipients pay $3,103 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,752.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
58.4%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$3,103

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$60,752

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
53.9%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$11,000

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
950–1340

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where CUNY Brooklyn ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (North)#39of 170Regional univ. (North)
Forbes2026America's Top Colleges#183of 500Top colleges (Forbes)
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#84of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#243of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#460of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges4 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)ListedOverall (Niche)
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: CUNY Brooklyn's position moves 43 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About CUNY Brooklyn

CUNY Brooklyn College is a public institution in Brooklyn, New York. Federal data show 80.1% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $3,103 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $3,103 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing CUNY Brooklyn College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,452

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$15,402

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by CUNY Brooklyn College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run CUNY Brooklyn's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    80.1%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    10,543

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    CUNY Brooklyn: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $15,402 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $3,103.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 58.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    CUNY Hunter College

    New York, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    CUNY Hunter College: U.S. News ranks it #27 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #102 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #15 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #391 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #766 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 16,289 undergraduates, admits 53.8% of applicants, and posts a 56.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,332; aid recipients pay $2,984 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $63,163.

    Acceptance rate
    53.8%
    Average net price
    $2,984
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $63,163
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#27 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#102 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#15 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    16,289 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 29 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Houston

    Houston, TXPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Houston: U.S. News ranks it #132 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #107 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #169 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #254 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #123 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #558 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 38,380 undergraduates, admits 73.9% of applicants, and posts a 64.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,547; aid recipients pay $14,276 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $62,377.

    Acceptance rate
    73.9%
    Average net price
    $14,276
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $62,377
    6-yr graduation rate
    64.6%
    US News · National universities#132 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#107 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#169 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    38,380 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 26 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Temple University

    Philadelphia, PAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Temple University: U.S. News ranks it #102 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #232 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #389 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #196 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #183 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #729 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 20,970 undergraduates, admits 80.4% of applicants, and posts a 75.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $38,958; aid recipients pay $28,198 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $63,727.

    Acceptance rate
    80.4%
    Average net price
    $28,198
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $63,727
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.0%
    US News · National universities#102 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#232 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#389 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    20,970 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 32 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare CUNY Brooklyn against these