Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

California Institute of Technology

Students comparing California Institute of Technology on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Pasadena, California987 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 3Private nonprofitHighly selectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

California Institute of Technology: U.S. News ranks it #11 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #24 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #39 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #6 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 Science Lab Facilities; QS ranks it #10 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 987 undergraduates, admits 2.6% of applicants, and posts a 94.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $65,898; aid recipients pay $16,075 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $128,566.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
2.6%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$16,075

81% below the $86,181 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$128,566

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
94.4%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by California Institute of Technology in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedCalifornia Institute of Technology reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Caltech ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Universities#11of 436National universities
Forbes2026America's Top Colleges#24of 500Top colleges (Forbes)
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#39of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)A+#6of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges5 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Top 5 Science Lab FacilitiesListedOverall (Niche)
QS2026World University Rankings#10of 1,504World (QS)

Methodology sensitivity: Caltech's position moves 8 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a moderate spread; the ranking you look at changes the answer somewhat. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Caltech

California Institute of Technology is a private nonprofit institution in Pasadena, California. Federal data show 97.4% first-year retention and a 3:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,075 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $86,181 sticker cost against $16,075 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing California Institute of Technology on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$65,898

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
18.0%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$20,283

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $86,181 a year, but the average family pays $16,075 — a 81% difference. 18.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Caltech's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    3:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    97.4%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    987

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Caltech: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $65,898 and on-campus room and board is $20,283, for a published total of $86,181 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,075.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 2.6%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of Southern California

    Los Angeles, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Southern California: U.S. News ranks it #28 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #28 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #49 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #37 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #146 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 20,443 undergraduates, admits 9.8% of applicants, and posts a 91.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $72,097; aid recipients pay $32,740 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $92,498.

    Acceptance rate
    9.8%
    Average net price
    $32,740
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $92,498
    6-yr graduation rate
    91.8%
    US News · National universities#28 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#28 of 500WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#49 of 500+4 more on profile

    20,443 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 7 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Duke University

    Durham, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Duke University: U.S. News ranks it #7 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #22 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #2 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #45 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #11 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #62 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 6,442 undergraduates, admits 5.7% of applicants, and posts a 96.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $68,758; aid recipients pay $29,612 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $97,800.

    Acceptance rate
    5.7%
    Average net price
    $29,612
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $97,800
    6-yr graduation rate
    96.8%
    US News · National universities#7 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#22 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#2 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    6,442 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 3 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Brown University

    Providence, RIPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Brown University: U.S. News ranks it #13 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #18 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #17 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #36 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #12 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #69 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 7,226 undergraduates, admits 5.4% of applicants, and posts a 95.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $71,412; aid recipients pay $25,184 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $93,487.

    Acceptance rate
    5.4%
    Average net price
    $25,184
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $93,487
    6-yr graduation rate
    95.7%
    US News · National universities#13 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#18 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#17 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    7,226 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 3 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Caltech against these