Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Brigham Young University-Hawaii

Students comparing Brigham Young University-Hawaii on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Laie, Hawaii2,889 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 20Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Brigham Young University-Hawaii: U.S. News ranks it #6 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Niche ranks it #903 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,889 undergraduates, admits 47.0% of applicants, and posts a 52.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $6,630; aid recipients pay $16,774 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,064.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
47.0%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$16,774

-16% below the $14,417 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,064

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
52.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$9,413

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
960–1190

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Brigham Young ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (West)#6of 104Regional colleges (West)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#903of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Brigham Young's position moves 29 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Brigham Young

Brigham Young University-Hawaii is a private nonprofit institution in Laie, Hawaii. Federal data show 73.5% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,774 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $14,417 sticker cost against $16,774 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Brigham Young University-Hawaii on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$6,630

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
15.1%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$7,787

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $14,417 a year, but the average family pays $16,774 — a -16% difference. 15.1% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Brigham Young's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    73.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,889

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Brigham Young: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $6,630 and on-campus room and board is $7,787, for a published total of $14,417 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,774.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 47.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Heritage University

    Toppenish, WAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Heritage University: U.S. News ranks it #52 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #94 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #423 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 812 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 53.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,928; aid recipients pay $14,598 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,416.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $14,598
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,416
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#52 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#94 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#423 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    812 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 22 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Portland

    Portland, ORPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Portland: U.S. News ranks it #2 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Forbes ranks it #182 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #323 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #71 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #253 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #15 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 2,957 undergraduates, admits 89.2% of applicants, and posts a 79.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $58,100; aid recipients pay $28,210 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $82,804.

    Acceptance rate
    89.2%
    Average net price
    $28,210
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $82,804
    6-yr graduation rate
    79.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#2 of 118Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#182 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#323 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,957 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 17 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Redlands

    Redlands, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Redlands: U.S. News ranks it #8 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Forbes ranks it #216 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #160 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #107 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1009 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,049 undergraduates, admits 82.7% of applicants, and posts a 67.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $60,878; aid recipients pay $30,031 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $72,690.

    Acceptance rate
    82.7%
    Average net price
    $30,031
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $72,690
    6-yr graduation rate
    67.3%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#8 of 118Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#216 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#160 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,049 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 24 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Brigham Young against these